Watch Intro Video

Lahari & Nadishodhana Pranayama

with A. G. Mohan & Indra Mohan

Registration is now closed.

Please sign up for our newsletter if you would like to be notified when we reopen registration.

Pranayama is the “yoga of inner sensation”

With almost a century of yoga practice and studies between them, A. G. Mohan and Indra Mohan offer you a unique and rare opportunity to learn these ancient skills where breath guides you to subtle, inner experiences.

The first key step in this pathway is to cultivate pleasant and easy inner awareness with the breath. The traditional pranayama to do this was called Lahari Pranayama.

Lahari means wave. The breath washes over us in waves. By connecting to that rhythmic flow, we can smooth the fluctuations of the breath and begin to experience its deeper sensations. This will calm the mind too. A special addition to this is practice using mantra to guide the breath and mind to steadiness.

Lahari Pranayama is an important preparation for the most important Nadisodhana Pranayama. The basic technique is simple: it is alternate nostril breathing. But pranayama is not just breathing; there are several vital principles underlying the traditional practice, and practical matters of technique that make the practice effective.

In this course, you will...

  • connect with ancient sources

    with references from relevant sections of traditional texts such as the Hatha Yoga Pradipika, Yoga Yajnavalkya, and Gheranda Samhita

  • absorb insights

    from highlights of special points in the teachings of Sri Krishnamacharya, such as pranayama with and without mantra

  • learn to practice

    starting from the prerequisites and purpose, and receive guidance in doing these pranayamas with answers to selected questions

Teachers

A. G. Mohan

A. G. Mohan was a student of "the father of modern yoga," Yogacarya Sri T. Krishnamacharya (1888-1989), for eighteen years. He is the author of several books on yoga, including Yoga for Body, Breath, and Mind; Yoga Reminder; Yoga Therapy; and Krishnamacharya: His Life and Teachings.

Indra Mohan

Indra Mohan has been practicing and teaching yoga for more than three decades. Along with her husband A.G. Mohan, she continues to study and deepen her knowledge in yoga and related fields. She is one of the few people who received a post-graduate diploma in yoga from Krishnamacharya. Her profound understanding of yoga and Ayurveda and how it applies to all aspects of our health, particularly in the area of women’s’ health is inspirational.

Course Format

Live Learning from Masters

  • 3 Sessions over 3 weeks (27 June, 4 & 11 July 2020)

  • 90 min/session, each session includes lecture & practice

  • Selected questions from sessions 1 and 2 will be answered in session 3

3 Months Unlimited Replay

Refine and deepen your skills

After the live course is completed, you have unlimited access to the course for 3 months so that you can take the time to revisit the materials and deepen your skills at your own pace.

How to Access this Course

You will be accessing this course through online live sessions with the Mohans via video conferencing software (Zoom).


Dates & Timings

Session 1: 27 June, 2020

Session 2: 4 July, 2020

Session 3: 11 July, 2020

Each session of 90 minutes will be offered twice on each of these three days, to accommodate global time zones. You can choose to join either Time 1 or Time 2.

Time 1: London: 07:00 am; Amsterdam: 08:00 am; Turkey/Israel: 09:00 am; India: 11:30 am; Singapore/Hong Kong/Perth: 14:00 hrs; South Korea: 15:00 hrs; Sydney: 16:00 hrs; Auckland: 18:00 hrs.

Time 2: Los Angeles 06:30 am; Denver 07:30 am; Chicago: 08:30 am; New York: 09:30 am; London: 14:30 hrs; Amsterdam: 15:30 hrs; Turkey/Israel: 16:30 hrs; India: 19:00 hrs; Singapore/Hong Kong/Perth: 21:30 hrs.  

What should I do to attend class? 

  • Sign-up for the course with the Join Course button.
  • Create an account with Zoom.
  • Please ensure that your name in your Zoom account and in your Svastha Yoga Online account are the same, so that we can identify you and let you in from the meeting room in Zoom.
  • Login to the course on the day of the session to see the link to the meeting.
  • You can attend the meeting from the browser itself or you can click on the link to open the meeting in the Zoom app.


What should I have ready? 

  • A laptop, tablet, or mobile phone with Zoom installed.

  • Speakers on your device or earphones to ensure you hear your teachers clearly.


Guidelines

  • Login to the meeting 15 minutes early so the moderator can admit you after verifying your name.

  • Mute your audio.

  • Your video is optional.


Download the PDF below for full guidelines:

Live Session Guidelines.pdf

Course curriculum

  • 1

    Instructions: Please read this first

    • Instructions for live online courses on Svastha Yoga Online

  • 2

    27 June 2020: Lahari Pranayama

    • Session 1, Time 1: Video Replay

    • Session 1, Time 2: Video Replay

  • 3

    4 July 2020: Nadishodana Pranayama

    • Session 2, Time 1: Video Replay

    • Session 2, Time 2: Video Replay

  • 4

    11 July 2020: Q&A, Deepening

    • Session 3, Time 1: Video Replay

    • Session 3, Time 2: Video Replay

  • 5

    Notes & References

    • Traditional words & phrases and their meaning

    • Nadishodhana Root Diagram

    • Nadishodhana Pranayama in the Hatha Yoga Pradipika

    • Nadishodhana Pranayama in the Yoga Yajnavalkya

    • Nadishodhana Pranayama in the Gheranda Samhita