Ujjayi is the key to working with your breath in asana so that you can transition to pranayama. Ujjayi can also be a pranayama technique in itself. Kapalabhati and Bhastrika are widely practiced nowadays but require careful guidance to be safe and effective.

With more than a century and a half of yoga practice and studies between them, the Mohans offer you a unique and rare opportunity to comprehensively understand and practice these pranayama and breathing techniques.

In this online course, you will...

  • CONNECT TO THE TRADITION

    of ancient yoga texts and the teachings of Sri Krishnamacharya

  • CLEARLY UNDERSTAND THE TOPICS

    including modern science and practice and teaching guidelines

  • PRACTICE THE TECHNIQUES

    of different ujjayi pranayamas with guidance from master teachers

Course Details

Traditional explanation of these pranayamas by A. G. Mohan drawing upon from his extensive studies of the ancient texts, including the relevant sections from Hatha Yoga Pradipika and Gheranda Samhita, as well as other wide-ranging sources such as Yoga Yajnavalkaya, Bhagavad Gita, Yoga Sutra, Ayurveda, Vedas and more.  

Special insights from notes of classes with Sri Krishnamacharya: what the master suggested, negated, modified, and more.  

Guided practices from Indra Mohan for ujjayi pranayama, anuloma ujjayi pranayama, viloma ujjayi pranayama, and pratiloma ujjayi pranayama.

Functional anatomy and physiology of ujjayi and forceful breathing techniques by Dr. Ganesh Mohan. 

Modern and medical guidelines for practice and teaching, including cautions and contraindications, by Dr. Ganesh Mohan. 

Key verses from Hatha Yoga Pradipika and Gheranda Samhita with Sanskrit, English transliteration, and English translation of each verse by Dr. Ganesh Mohan. 

Glossary of relevant Sanskrit terms used in the lectures. 

The opportunity to submit questions after going through these materials. The Mohans will answer the relevant questions in live sessions.

Online Course Format

6+ Hours, Recorded + Live Sessions, 1 Year Access

  • 4+ hours of in-depth content immediately on signup

  • Live sessions (2 hours), answers to questions with recorded replay

  • Access for 1 year to watch/revise at your convenience

Teachers

A. G. Mohan was a personal student of the legendary yogi Sri Krishnamacharya (1888-1989), for nearly two decades. He has immersed himself in extensive traditional studies across wide-ranging subjects from ayurveda to tantra and Samkhya over half a century. He is the author of several books on yoga, including Yoga for Body, Breath, and Mind, Yoga Reminder, Yoga Therapy, and Krishnamacharya: His Life and Teachings.


Indra Mohan has been studying, practicing and teaching yoga along with her husband A.G. Mohan. She is one of few people to receive a post-graduate diploma in yoga from Sri Krishnamacharya. She is known not only for her knowledge but also for her wisdom and calm presence.



Dr. Ganesh Mohan, son of A. G. Mohan and Indra Mohan, was trained from childhood in yoga and other related traditional studies. He is a doctor, having trained in both modern medicine and Ayurveda. He is the co-author of Yoga Therapy, Krishnamacharya, and Yoga Reminder. He directs the Svastha Yoga Therapy and Teacher Training programs as well as other trainings internationally.


Nitya Mohan, daughter of A. G. Mohan and Indra Mohan, was trained in yoga from a young age. She also holds a degree in music and is an exponent of Vedic chanting, having conducted numerous seminars and given concerts internationally. A skilled and experienced teacher, she has been running the Svastha training programs in Singapore for two decades. 


Watch Intro Video

Authentic, Clear, Approachable

Ancient practices for modern wellbeing

1 Year Unlimited Replay

Refine and deepen your skills

You have unlimited access to the course for 1 year from your date of enrollment. Take time to revisit the materials and deepen your skills at your own pace.

Assessment & Certificate

  • The last lesson of the course includes assessment through multiple choice quiz. The questions are designed not only to test your understanding but also to help you reflect on what you have learned.
  • Once you complete the assessment, you will receive your certificate of completion for the course (6 hours of training).
  • You can use the hours from this course as continuing education with Yoga Alliance.

Live Sessions

The recorded sessions of 4+ hours are available immediately when you signup as this is a hybrid program.

There will be two live sessions of one hour each on 12 December, 2020. You can choose to join either Time 1 or Time 2.

Time 1: London: 06:00 am; Amsterdam: 07:00 am; Israel: 08:00 am; Turkey: 09:00 am India: 11:30 am; Singapore/Hong Kong/Perth: 14:00 hrs; South Korea: 15:00 hrs; Sydney: 17:00 hrs; Auckland: 19:00 hrs.

Time 2: Los Angeles 05:30 am; Denver 06:30 am; Chicago: 07:30 am; New York: 08:30 am; London: 13:30 hrs; Amsterdam: 14:30 hrs; Israel: 15:30 hrs; Turkey: 16:30; India: 19:00 hrs; Singapore/Hong Kong/Perth: 21:30 hrs.   

The live sessions will be recorded and uploaded to the course for you to watch the replays.

Course curriculum

  • 1

    Ujjayi breathing and pranayama

    • Ujjayi in classical yoga and asana to pranayama

    • Ujjayi, long breath, wellbeing, mental steadiness

    • Why ujjayi in asana? - from classical texts

    • Functional anatomy, physiology, guidelines, cautions for ujjayi

    • Ujjayi Pranayama - Guided Practice

    • Anuloma Ujjayi Pranayama - Guided Practice

    • Viloma Ujjayi Pranayama - Guided Practice

    • Pratiloma Ujjayi Pranayama - Guided Practice

  • 2

    Kapalabhati and Bhastrika

    • Kapalabhati in traditional hatha yoga

    • Bhastrika in traditional hatha yoga

    • Physiology, guidelines, cautions for forceful breathing

  • 3

    Glossary & References

    • Glossary of Sanskrit terms

    • Ujjayi in the Hatha Yoga Pradipika

    • Ujjayi in the Gheranda Samhita

    • Kapalabhati in the Hatha Yoga Pradipika

    • Kapalabhati in the Gheranda Samhita

    • Bhastrika in the Hatha Yoga Pradipika

    • Bhastrika in the Gheranda Samhita

  • 4

    Q&A and Live Sessions

    • Submit your questions

    • Accessing the Live Sessions

    • Zoom Meeting Links: will be updated on 10 Dec 2020

    • Live Session 1 Replay will be uploaded here

    • Live Session 2 Replay will be uploaded here

  • 5

    Assessment

    • Instructions for Assessment

    • Please complete the quiz with 80% correct answers. You can retake the quiz as needed.